Leadership and all that jazz

I am a junkie for books & posts on leadership.  Years ago I started reading John Maxwell’s  books.  It all began when I took one of the countless quizzes on “who are you” posted on the net.  This was when the internet was really quite new and being the ‘always seeking, always wondering’ person that I am, I took a quiz.  This particular quiz stated that I am a visionary, a healer, & a leader.

vi·sion·ar·y  (vzh-nr)

adj.

1. Characterized by vision or foresight.

2.a. Having the nature of fantasies or dreams; illusory.

b. Existing in imagination only; imaginary.

3.a. Characterized by or given to apparitions, prophecies, or revelations.

b. Given to daydreams or reverie; dreamy.

4.a. Not practicable or realizable; utopian: visionary schemes for getting rich.

b. Tending to envision things in perfect but unrealistic form; idealistic.

n. pl. vi·sion·ar·ies

1. One who is given to impractical or speculative ideas; a dreamer.

2. One who has visions; a seer.

heal·er noun \ˈhē-lər\

one that heals

lead·er noun (ldr)

1. One that leads or guides.

2. One who is in charge or in command of others.

These words grabbed my attention!  I have fanciful thoughts about what is possible AND I’m a leader?  And a healer to boot? What/Whom am I supposed to lead in these ‘flights of fancy’?  I am reminded of a quote, “Some men see things as they are, and say ‘Why?’ — I dream of things that never were, and say, ‘Why not?” George Barnard Shaw

All of my life I have looked at a thing, a circumstance, a place & thought of how I could make it better, more functional, add to its beauty.  As for the healing aspect of me, I had abandoned that thought decades ago.

When I was in junior high I entertained the thought of becoming a physician, a surgeon actually, so I wouldn’t have to deal with the feelings of people, but I could still be instrumental in their healing.  I spent a day in the hospital shadowing a nurse and decided right then that there was no way on earth I would do THAT job. Because I lived right smack in the middle of the Women’s Liberation movement I realized we had a long way to go before anyone was going to willingly allow me to be a surgeon.  Men are surgeons, women are nurses & I detested that job, therefore, medicine was a no-go for me. Fast forward 30 years and I find myself in a healing profession after all, that of helping people rebuild their lives, particularly people coming out of prison.

Today I came across yet another tidbit on leadership.  The 10 commandments of it. As I read it I wonder, do I really have what it takes to lead Namaste Healing Center?  My stint as chairwoman of the South Carolina Re-entry Initiative (SCRI) gave me a taste of what it is to lead a group of people coming from all walks of life and I do mean, literally from all walks of life.  When I stepped down as Chair I realized that I do have what it takes, but I must be more focused.  I also know that I simply must have complete command of my emotional life or it will derail me.

So here I am, almost a year after stepping down, ready to take the helm again. SCRI is a different thing altogether. After I left they renamed the group the SC Crime Reduction Coalition.  The name fits the focus.  I have retained SCRI.  It was my baby for 3 years and it will be my baby until I leave this earth.

As I read the Ten Commandments on Leadership I realize, I AM this leader and I am definitely Building a lasting legacy.

The 10 Commandments of Leadership

  1. Make What Matters Really Matter
    Hold yourself and others accountable for bringing your mission to life.
  2. Practice What You Preach
    Be a role model for honesty, integrity, and walking the talk.
  3. Communicate with Care and Conviction
    Share what you know, be considerate and confident, and listen respectfully.
  4. Create the Involvement You Seek
    Provide team members with meaningful opportunities to participate.
  5. Do Right by Those Who Do Right
    Acknowledge and thank team members who meet or exceed your expectations.
  6. Provide What They Need to Succeed
    Make sure team members have the tools, training, and support necessary to do their best work.
  7. Confront Challenges with Courage
    Face difficult situations directly. Make the tough calls. Do what you know needs to be done.
  8. Let Differences Become Your Direction
    Appreciate the uniqueness of all of your team members. Use it to move you beyond the status quo.
  9. Strive to Serve Others
    Use your knowledge and skills for the betterment of all “customers.”
  10. Go Forth and Prosper
    Build a lasting legacy. Accept that your ultimate purpose is to help everyone become successful.
About lantanagurl

Farmstress, Adventuress, Spiritual Junkie, Community Builder, Social Justice Activist, Momma and Grandmomma :)
This entry was posted in Leadership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leadership and all that jazz

  1. I greatly appreciate your post. As a seasoned psychic, I can not help myself to want to reward your efforts of sharing…with a bit of what I would like to think is personal encouragement. You my dear, are a very powerful ‘leader’ indeed. And, you are quite ripe, ready and intrinsically prepared to disseminate your learned and psychically acquired knowledge and power, albeit in the new paradigm of thought leadership aka “conscious leadership”. Your mission if you choose to accept it is: a) a radio show…b) the issue is you taking yourself seriously as much as you would wish others to take you seriously…c) only toning down your roar enough to ground the intensity but not the power source…d) I suggest you wear the color brown, white, and bright green…definitely not red (too much of a good thing). Good Luck in the New Year believing in your ability to articulate your simple message, and trust that the old nasty critic in the middle of your head is laid to rest once and for all. Violet Kashewa, expert Intuitive Business Advisor–Interpretive Insight Business Solutions

    • lantanagurl says:

      WOW Violet. I was surprised to receive a comment, especially one like yours. I do appreciate your reading and commenting on my post. You are the second person to mention a radio show. I participated in a few interviews last year on the topic, but had never really considered myself as a host until now. Funny that you should mention red because I like to wear red & yellow & orange in the summer. I recently started wearing brown & white, isn’t that a ‘coincidence’…lol. I laugh because I do not believe in coincidence. Consciousness is the primary component of Namaste Healing Center. The tried & true is Not working and hasn’t been working for a very long time. The world has shifted. I will have to research this new paradigm of conscious leadership more deeply. I smile at your comment about toning down my roar. How did you know I do that? Roar, that is. It is Leo, my rising sign, that permits my boldness. I am very passionate about life and that comes across as roaring at times.

      Thank you so much for the encouragement. I really needed to read your post!

  2. Just cleaning out the coffers with a special recipe of clairvoyant expertise, inspiration and a heaping spoon of catalyst…Thank you for the BlogTalkRadio follow. When you have a moment, check out our show feature topics: “Conscious Entrepreneurship” and “Wholism in Organizational Culture”. An extra PS…imagine in your spiritual eye a very turbulent body of water, like a large lake or ocean…then calm it. This will release the extra pressure of “seeing so much” as you are known to do…and this technique will calm your “dosha” a bit so you can think clearly on next steps. Good Luck!..Violet Kashewa,
    expert Intuitive Business Advising

Leave a Reply

